About NUCL

Nihon University College of Law (NUCL) is one of the oldest law schools in Japan.
NUCL was established in 1889, founded by Count Akiyoshi YAMADA, Japan’s first Minister of Justice when the original constitution of Japan was issued.
NUCL is a comprehensive faculty of social sciences with five departments that focus on the study of law and specialize in political science, economics, journalism and media, business, as well as social cultural studies. We are the largest law school in Japan with over 7,000 students and over 130 full-time faculty members.

About NUCL

Laws change as society changes. In some cases, laws change in response to the demands of society, and in other cases, society changes in response to changes in the law.

Studying law is an opportunity to develop an interest in the society behind the law, such as political science and economics, business, journalism, media, public policy, and culture. Why was this law (rule or regulation) created, and what was the background to its enactment? In order to explore these questions, we must not only draw on our own expertise, but also engage with interdisciplinary knowledge and learn from a variety of disciplines. This is because law is created by and reflects the very society in which people live.


The College of Law at Nihon University (known as NUCL) is the largest undergraduate law school in Japan and is designed to be a “comprehensive undergraduate school with a variety of fields in the social sciences.” With a curriculum that spans five fields including politics, economics, business, journalism, media, policy, and culture, in addition to law, students at NUCL can further enhance their interest in and understanding of society by developing their knowledge of law. It is also possible to analyze the state of law from multiple perspectives. By studying various fields with law as the starting point, students can acquire the ability to “understand society,” that is, the ability to deeply understand and consider the structure and evolution of society.

We hope that students who have sharpened their ability to “understand our society” will open up a “new world” on their own. At the same time, we hope that students will step out from the world in which they live, expand their boundaries, and take on new challenges. We are confident that you will find opportunities to open up a “new world” at the College of Law, Nihon University. Here you can acquire the critical thinking skills and confidence to “open up your new world” by interacting with our diverse faculty members and your colleagues.

The Founding Spirit of Nihon University

Nihon University aims to contribute to world peace and the welfare of humanity by relying on the Japanese spirit, valuing Japanese tradition based on its history and culture, abiding by the Constitution, cultivating the spirit of independent creativity, and by working for the development of culture.

The mission of Nihon University is to develop cultured people who are of sound mind and body and conduct in-depth academic research by gathering a broad range of knowledge from around the world.

Our History

Our History
  • 1889

    Nihon Law School (present: College of Law) founded.
    The Founder was the then Minister of Justice, Count Akiyoshi YAMADA.
    Count Kentaro KANEKO, LL.D. (Hon.), the later Minister of Justice, inaugurated as First Director.

  • 1893

    The first Graduation Ceremony held. Baron Yasukowa MATSUOKA, the later Minister of Agriculture and Commerce, inaugurated as Second Director (later, First President).
    Alumni Association organized.

  • 1898

    Higher Courses established and the graduates awarded the Degree of Bachelor of Japanese Law.

  • 1901

    Higher Teachers’ department (present: College of Humanities and Sciences) established.

  • 1903

    Renamed to Nihon University.

  • 1904

    Become a university under the Specialized School Order.
    Commerce department (present: College of Economics and College of Commerce) established.

  • 1906

    The first student sent to Europe. The first Foundation Anniversary Ceremony held.

  • 1920

    Become a university based on the University Order. The first female students granted admission.
    The School Song composed.
    School of Higher Engineering (present: College of Science and Technology) established.

  • 1921

    Aesthetic department (present: College of Art) established. Toyo Dental School (founded 1916, present: School of Dentistry) absorbed into Nihon University. The College Color decided. The first issue of Nihon University Newspaper published.

  • 1922

    Yasukowa MATSUOKA inaugurated as First President of Nihon University.

  • 1923

    Baron Kiichiro HIRANUMA, LL.D., the later Prime Minister, inaugurated as Second President.

  • 1925

    Medical Department of Technical College (present: School of Medicine) established.

  • 1929

    New School Song (present school song) composed.

  • 1933

    Mannosuke YAMAOKA, LL.D. inaugurated as Third President.

  • 1936

    The University Flag designed.

  • 1943

    College of Agriculture (present: College of Bioresource Sciences) established.

  • 1946

    Fumiaki KURE, D.Econ. inaugurated as Fourth President.

  • 1947

    Engineering Department of Technical College (present: College of Engineering) moved to Koriyama-shi, Fukushima prefecture.

  • 1948

    Correspondence Division established.

  • 1949

    Become a university under the new educational system. “The Founding Spirit of the University” instituted.

  • 1950

    Junior College established.

  • 1951

    Graduate Schools based on the new school system established.

  • 1952

    Industrial Administration department (present: College of Industrial Technology) established.
    Department of Pharmacy (present: College of Pharmacy) established.

  • 1958

    Kikushiro NAGATA, LL.D. inaugurated as Fifth President.

  • 1959

    “The Founding Spirit of the University” revised.

  • 1969

    Masaru SUZUKI, D.M. inaugurated as Sixth President.

  • 1971

    Matsudo Dental University (present: College of Dentistry at Matsudo) established.

  • 1978

    College of International Relations established.

  • 1984

    Masayuki TAKANASHI, LL.D. inaugurated as Seventh President.

  • 1989

    The Centennial Anniversary Ceremony held.

  • 1990

    Shigenori KINOSHITA, D.Eng. inaugurated as Eighth President.

  • 1993

    Yoshio SEZAI, D.Litt. inaugurated as Ninth President.

  • 1996

    Yukiyasu SEZAI, MD. inaugurated as Tenth President.

  • 2005

    Katsue KOJIMA, D.Eng. inaugurated as Eleventh President.

  • 2008

    Takeo SAKAI, DVM, PhD. inaugurated as Twelfth President.

  • 2011

    Kichibee OTSUKA, D.D.S., Ph.D. inaugurated as Thirteenth President.

Facts & Figures